Funk Brothers on the Hollywood Walk of Fame!

I just received the word – The Funk Brother have been selected to receive a start on the Hollywood Walk of Fame! Although Uriel and so many of the Funk Brothers are no longer with us, I know that they will be watching from above! Here’s the official press release. Many thanks, again, to Jeanne Bonfilio for the work she did to get the Funk Brothers the recognition they so richly deserve!

HOLLYWOOD, CA.—A new group of entertainers in motion pictures, television, live theater, and recording have been selected to receive stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, it was announced today by the Walk of Fame Committee of the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce. These individuals were chosen from among hundreds of nominations to the committee at a meeting held June 15, and ratified by the Chamber’s Board of Directors.

The Walk of Fame recipients for the year 2010 are:

MOTION PICTURES: James Cameron, Russell Crowe, John Cusack, Colin Firth, Gale Ann Hurd, Alan Menken, Randy Neuman, Adam Sandler, Emma Thompson and Mark Wahlberg

TELEVISION: Chris Berman, Jon Cryer, Peter Graves, Jimmy Kimmel, Julia
Louis-Dreyfuss, Bill Maher, and Sam Waterson

RECORDING: Bryan Adams, The Funk Brothers, Alan Jackson, Chaka Khan, Van
Morrison, Marco Antonio Solis, Ringo Starr, ZZ Top and posthumously Roy Orbison

LIVE PERFORMANCE/THEATRE: Andrea Bocelli and Cirque Du Soleil/Guy Liberte

“Hollywood’s class of 2010 has been selected! After much consideration, the Walk of Fame committee has selected 28 of our ‘most talented’ from more than 200 nominations! Fans and tourists worldwide will enjoy seeing their favorite celebrities receive this rare accolade. What is even more exciting is that these particular recipients will have the distinctive honor of being selected during the year that celebrates the Walk of Fame’s 50th Anniversary,” stated Earl Lestz, Chairman of the Hollywood Walk of Fame Committee.


One Response

  1. rockin ron July 13, 2009

Leave a Reply